Dating all the way back to the 1600's
The Penrallt Country House Hotel has an immersive history stretching back over 400 years. The Edwardian Mansion has been a family home, a school, a working farm, and in the past 50 years a beautiful country house hotel.
Since August 2019, the Vale family have lovingly brought the Penrallt Country House Hotel back to life, refurbishing the Edwardian Mansion into a luxurious 3* hotel with elegant fine dining experiences.
The Penrallt through the Years
The property was originally purchased in 1649 by Griffith Jenkin Thomas of Pantyrhys and remained in the Jenkins family until 1924.
The family trace their descent from Elystan Glodrydd, founder of the fourth Royal Tribe, born 933, whose name is the Welsh form of his godfather’s King Athelstan. The Lion Rampant in the coat of arms over the staircase belongs to Elystan.
Elystan’s eldest son was Cadwgan, Lord of Melienydd, whose arms are the boars’ heads. Cadwgan’s great-grandson was Elydur Goch, Lord Llangethen, whose son Sir Griffith, a crusader, carried the arms shown at the lower right in the stair window.
The house, erected originally by Griffith ap Jenkin in the mid 17th century stood until 1814 when it was rebuilt by Captain Thomas Jenkins, a commander in the Madras Naval Squadron.
Thomas Jenkins married Jane Morris, the daughter and heiress of Thomas Morris of Bach Hendre and Trebigin in Pembrokeshire.
The court of arms on the extreme right of the stair window are those of the Morris family.
The 1814 building was modernised in 1907 by Agnes Mary Jenkins, daughter of Major General Alexander Jenkins. The Major General died in 1901 and is buried in the family vault in Aberporth.
Agnes died in 1924 and the estate was sold.
The school closed in 1941 due to World War II.
In the 1930s owner, Gladys Williams opened a school for “children of school leaving age from distressed areas”. The youngsters – mainly from the South Wales valleys – were taught practical skills.
All that remains of the school today is a row of coat-hooks in one of the upstairs cupboards.
In the 1950s the estate was owned by the Harewood Williams family who let out part of the house to RAF officers from the nearby MoD base.
By the late 1960s the Penrallt was turned into a hotel. In the late 1970s the old existing farm buildings were turned into garden rooms and a few years later 15 extra holiday cottages were built in the grounds.
The Penrallt was lovingly bought by the Vale family in 2019. The rich heritage of the Penrallt is reflected in the naming of our rooms. From Dylan Thomas to our Jenkins rooms, the deeply rooted history that is in abundance at this Edwardian Mansion will live on for many years to come.